Requirements to Possess Firearms
Resident License to Carry (LTC) Firearms
To lawfully possess a handgun, you must have a valid LTC. You may get an application at your local police department, or go to the "Firearms Forms" page to print an application. Contact your local police department for additional information.
Resident Firearms Identification (FID) Cards
To lawfully possess a rifle, shotgun, ammunition, or chemical propellant spray, you must possess a valid FID card. You may get an application at your local police department or go to the "Firearms Forms" page to print an application. Contact your local police department for additional information.
Persons who are not citizens of the United States, and are residents of Massachusetts shall not own or have in his possession or under his control a firearm except as provided in section one hundred and thirty-one F or a rifle or shotgun except as provided in this section or section one hundred and thirty-one F. The colonel of the state police may, after an investigation, issue a permit to an alien to own or have in his possession or under his control a rifle or shotgun; subject to such terms and conditions as said colonel may deem proper. The fee for the permit shall be $100, which shall be payable to the licensing authority and shall not be prorated or refunded in case of revocation or denial.
(M.G.L. c. 140 §131F, and M.G.L. c. 140 §131H). For information on how to apply for an alien license to possess a rifle or shotgun, contact the Firearms Record Bureau (FRB) at (617) 660-4780.
Non-Residents Carrying Firearms within the Commonwealth
A United States citizen who is not a resident of the Commonwealth may possess rifles, shotguns, and firearms if certain situations apply. For information regarding the possession of pistols, revolvers, rifles or shotguns, see F.A.Q. in the left column for Massachusetts Laws related to firearms. If the situations described in the law do not apply, the non-resident citizen must apply for a temporary non-resident LTC. Please call the FRB at (617) 660-4780 for more information.
The FRB may issue a Class A or Class B temporary license to carry firearms, or feeding devices, or ammunition. These licenses may be issued only to aliens who are not Massachusetts residents, for such purposes as firearms competitions, and may be subject to other terms and conditions. Please call the FRB at (617) 660-4780 for more information.
See F.A.Q. in the left column for Massachusetts Laws related to firearms.
LYNN POLICE DEPARTMENT PROCEDURE
FOR ALL APPLICANTS
All applicants must be a resident of Lynn and at least 21
years of age.
Renewals and new applicants must have a birth
certificate or citizenship papers.
No Passports will be accepted.
* Massachusetts Drivers License or any current
picture ID with a current address on it.
* Two different home utility bills or any other bills
that show proof of residency. Your name must be
New Applicants must bring in a copy of a Competency Course given by a state certified instructor.
* If applying for Mace only, no competency course is
$100.00 cash non-refundable application fee.
* There is NO FEE for applicants 70 years of age
RESTRICTED FID CARD FEE REDUCTION NOTICE
Chapter 140 of the Acts of 2003 in Section 34 reduces the fee for first time FID Cards Restricted to Chemical Sprays (Class D) from $100 to $25. Renewals for this restricted FID Card continue to be free.
(The bill was signed by the Governor on November 26, 2003.)
Applications for Licenses To Carry, Firearm Identification Cards, and renewals are accepted in the Records Office only.
All Firearms Licensing Is Done By Appointment Only.
Telephone 781-595-2000 to make an appointment.